Kenwood Inn and Spa in Kenwood, California
Rising from the vines of Sonoma's lush vineyards is the intoxicating Kenwood Inn and Spa, a luxurious California wine country retreat fashioned after a Mediterranean villa. Kenwood is a relaxing 29-room sanctuary where guests are pampered beyond belief. Guest room comforts are never-ending with romantic fireplaces, plush featherbeds cloaked in Italian linens, full baths, ambient lighting and twice-daily housekeeping service. The grounds are equally splendid with lush courtyards, a pair of outdoor swimming pools, sunning terraces, and a steam room and hot tub. It is no wonder why Hollywood A-listers consider Kenwood Inn and Spa their own personal pied-ŕ-terre.
Kenwood's restaurant features an ŕ la carte menu of classic Italian dishes, served by a rustic fireplace and wood-burning oven during winter, and doors that open up onto the verdant courtyard during the warmer seasons. Each morning you will awake to a complimentary breakfast made with an array of fresh ingredients acquired from the fields of local farmers. Discover endless daytime adventures, such as a stroll through historic Sonoma Plaza flanked with tiny shops and bistros. After a day of wine tasting, retreat to the Spa at Kenwood, where "vinotherapy" is administered using products infused with red wine extracts as well as chardonnay and Riesling oils that are both soothing and beneficial to the body. Celebrate the end of another delightful day inside the inn's intimate wine bar where you can toast your good fortune with fellow guests.
Location of Kenwood Inn and Spa
Nearest Airport: SFO
Amenities for Kenwood Inn and Spa
- General Information
- 29 Guest Rooms
- Adults Only
- Room Service
- Wine Bar
- On-Site Amenities
- Outdoor Pool
- Outdoor Whirlpools
- 2 Outdoor Pools
- In-Room Amenities
- Turndown Service
- CD Players
- Direct Dial Telephones
- Luxury Linens
- Luxury Bath Amenities
- Wine Tours
- Meeting Rooms
- Art Galleries
- Antique Shopping
- Food & Wine
- Spa & Wellness
- Spring Getaways
- Summer Getaways
Reviews for Kenwood Inn and Spa
My husband booked the Kenwood Inn back in January 2017 for my 50th birthday which was this April. We had looked at the rooms online and decided that the Garden Rooms that were recently renovated was what we preferred. After reading some reviews online about traffic noise (some rooms face the busy Hwy 12)and foot noise if you are on the main level, my husband called right away to request that we put in a room on an upper floor and not facing the road. He was assured that we were moved to a quiet room. This was requested well in advance of our arrival. At the time of booking the room rate was $450. Closer to the date of our arrival, friends were thinking of joining us so we looked to see what was available, and saw the same room we had booked for $269. So my husband called to see what was going on and confirm the room we had booked. The room was the same, but the rate had gone down likely due to the Inn being sold recently. They did lower the rate, but said this one time only which we thought was a bit odd, because had we not noticed we would have paid the original price. Again my husband confirmed his request for a quiet room and was assured thatâ€™s what we had. On arrival, we were taken to our room, it was lovely, the room we wanted, on the second floor, BUT facing the highway and you could clearly hear the cars zooming by. So we asked to be moved, no explanation as to what happened with our request. We were shown a couple of rooms and ended up in a larger suite that was very outdated in one of the Heritage buildings. This room had potential, but was seriously outdated and the bathroom had an old old tub, no towel bars, one sink that didnâ€™t drain properly. So this time, I went to the front desk and complained. Long story short, they did move us to an updated Suite to make us happy because the hotel was not full, which was very nice, however the walls were super thin and we could hear our neighbours like they were in our room. I guess my question is what would they have done if they were fully booked. The wine and cheese in the lobby everyday at 5pm is nicely done, the breakfast included was good, and grounds of the Inn are very lovely. The breakfast location is in need of an update though, it was a bit dark, and the restaurant isnâ€™t open anymore, so you have to drive to Glen Ellen or Sonoma for dinner. I realize the hotel has just been taken over and renovations will happen, but right now I can only give it a 3 star because some of the amenities are just not 5 star yet. No alarm clock in the room, no coffee or tea in the room so if youâ€™re an early riser, we had to wait until the breakfast area opened to get coffee, and noise transfer between rooms is an issue, especially when you are paying top dollar for a room.
Syrah77 - Calgary, AB
Such a BEAUTIFUL property. I'll begin by saying how AMAZING their staff is. We were greeted with a glass of champagne while checking in and smiles from everyone on site. We were then taken on a tour of the property and shown to our room. The rooms are beautiful...marble bathrooms, fireplaces in each room and speakers built in the walls throughout. The property has an on site pool with a waterfall and TWO hot tubs. One is more of a "hot pool" as it is a really large hot tub that can fit a good amount of people. The property also includes a wine tasting room where each nite, for an hour, there is a wine tasting with small bites of delicious cheeses and meats that pair with what you're sampling. Included in your stay is a daily morning breakfast which changes each morning. We had apple sausage, quiches, breakfast potatoes, bagels, English muffins, fruit, granola and yogurt. You can't go wrong with this place. The food is great, the property is beautiful, and the staff is extremely helpful with any need that you might have.
Emily N - Sterling, Virginia
Extremely disappointed in the accommodations and management at Kenwood Inn and Spa. My wife and I visited the Sonoma area this past weekend to celebrate my birthday and chose to stay one night at the Kenwood Inn and their â€śSonoma Luxury Accommodations.â€ť When we checked in we noticed that our original room number had been scratched out and replaced with the number â€ś8.â€ť Even though the rooms are advertised as being â€śrecently renovatedâ€ť and offer â€śa balcony or patio,â€ť room 8 did not offer either of those options. The bathroom was dated and looked nothing like the pictures presented on the website. When you decide to splurge and stay at â€śluxury accommodationsâ€ť you have certain expectations. In our current living situation we have a less than desirable bathroom, which is why we always choose places with renovated bathrooms when we travel, so we were very disappointed when we checked into our room. We called to the front desk and complained and were told there was nothing they could do because the hotel was at full capacity. We complained online and the response from the Kenwood was unacceptable. Their response was, "The room you were in is a bit unique as it is part of the original building that dates back to the 1920's ... it sounds like that is not your style.â€ť What a condescending and blame-passing response. We paid for recently renovated luxury accommodations. So according to the Kenwood management, the problem wasnâ€™t that the website provided false advertising leading us to believe we were getting luxury accommodations, no, the problem was that the room just wasnâ€™t our style. Ridiculous. So, if you go to a steak house and pay for a Filet Mignon and the waiter brings you a hamburger patty and you complain, the chef can say â€śI guess thatâ€™s not your styleâ€ť? Noâ€¦you paid for a Filet Mignon and that is what you should receive. We paid a lot of money for luxury accommodations and we did not receive what we paid for. But maybe Iâ€™m to blame for not scouring their website enough. Letâ€™s break down their â€śluxury accommodationsâ€ť descriptions concerning the bathrooms: Garden Room: â€śâ€¦a glass-enclosed walk-in showerâ€¦â€ť Beautiful Rooms: â€śjetted tub and oversized shower with marble benchesâ€¦â€ť Grand Rooms â€śdeluxe bathrooms with oversized jetted tubs and extra-large showers with marble benchesâ€¦â€ť Tuscany Suite: â€śjetted tub and glass-enclosed walk-in showerâ€¦â€ť Sonoma Suite: â€śjetted tub, walk-in shower and dual vanitiesâ€¦â€ť Nowhere on their site do they mention 1920â€™s style bathrooms. Every description of the rooms they offer on their website (at the very least) states they include a â€śglass-enclosed walk-in shower.â€ť Take a look at the attached images from the bathroom in our â€śluxury room.â€ť Do these look like a 1920â€™s style bathroom? No, of course not. They look like your grandmotherâ€™s spare bathroom that was updated 20+ years ago. Where is the glass-enclosed walk- in shower? Jetted tub? Recently renovated details? After complaining again the following morning they took off the $35 resort fee from our bill (a drop in the bucket compared to the cost of the room). We were willing to let it go until we got the condescending email from the Kenwood Inn putting the blame on us for not appreciating their â€ś1920s styleâ€ť instead of acknowledging that the room they put us in was not the luxury that was advertised on their website. My recommendation is to take your money to one of the many other (actual) luxury accommodations in the area. And if you donâ€™t heed this warning, then at the very least check in early or risk getting stuck in the overflow room number 8.
coalbranson - San Francisco, California
There is something very special about this place! We first visited 10+ years ago and we were happy to see that it has only gotten better! We arrived and were greeted with a glass of prosecco in the lobby. They took our bags and brought us on a tour of the property. I love that it is small and intimate. We were in room 20 and had a beautiful view of the vineyards and the courtyard. They had a bottle of bubbly waiting for us in our room with a note wishing me a happy birthday! We ate in the restaurant once for dinner and it was good and the waiter Greg was personable. The breakfast was delicious -- loved the croque madame and the dutch baby. So nice to have breakfast included. We had an early morning flight on our last day and the waitstaff and cook were accommodating to serve us early and quickly. We visited the wine bar once. We wished it had a touch more energy. Maybe music? All in all, we loved our return visit to the Kenwood Inn!
I've given the Kenwood Inn a 5 star as it has so much potential to be at that level. We've been enjoying the Inn for many years now and have watched it get tired and not really invested in properly. Some of the staff has been less than star but many still are. Overall it's such a nice property and perfect for us all it needs is some investment and love.
edward w - La Jolla, California