-
New LL Traveler
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Posts
- 2
01-27-2007, 09:56 AMWow! what a find
Have you checked out Point Pleasant Inn & Resort in Bristol, RI?
-
LL Traveler
- Join Date
- Feb 2007
- Posts
- 20
02-10-2007, 11:56 AMRe: Wow! what a find
I hope others are as sceptical as me when they see posts like this. I checked it out and - lo and behold - if you go to [url="http://www.pointpleasantinn.com/contact.htm"]http://www.pointpleasantinn.com/contact.htm[/email]you'll see the email address [email protected]displayed.
Why, oh why, are people not more subtle if they're going to go about spamming... this just looks so bad from someone purporting to be at the top end of the market.
Paul
-
02-11-2007, 04:34 AM
Re: Wow! what a find
Hi Paul,
If you find spam or adverts there's an option for reporting abuse to the moderators -- use the pull-down menu at the top left of the box (options). It's the last one on the bottom. I've reported this one but it doesn't hurt if more than one person reports.
Thus far there seems to be relatively little spam on these boards, though I suspect that will change as more spammers find out about them.
Cheers,
Julian
-
LL Traveler
- Join Date
- Feb 2007
- Posts
- 20
02-11-2007, 04:59 AMRe: Wow! what a find
Ah, OK... I know for in future now, thanks.
-
02-11-2007, 09:30 AM
Re: Wow! what a find
pauljohnson....there have been a small hand full of similar posting from other individuals since the start of this community. Although the abuses have been reported, the most effective solution seems to be simply ignoring them and they eventually dry up and fall from the vine.
Regards,
By the way, your personal travel blog is refinedand enjoyable to read.- Ω -
"Toujours Prêt"
-
LL Traveler
- Join Date
- Feb 2007
- Posts
- 20
02-11-2007, 11:49 AMRe: Wow! what a find
Understood, and thanks for the kind words...
-
02-12-2007, 10:02 PM
Re: Wow! what a find
pauljohnson
Looks to me a bit like a case of "the pot calling the kettle black". I checked out your "luxury travel blog", which you prominently include on all your posts. Lo and behold -it says that you are the Managing Director of "an onlinetourism marketing company with a client base that includes some of the finest hotels in the world." It goes on to say that the company "operates over 200 travel-related websites" and that "it generates over $2 million annually in direct online bookings worldwide and at least the same again in offline sales."
Why, oh why indeed, are people not more subtle? It just looks so bad from someone who's posting recommendations about specific hotels on LL's Community boards. Could this be "phishing "?
curtiejoe
-
Jetsetter
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Posts
- 34
02-13-2007, 03:12 AMRe: Wow! what a find
Nice one, curtiejoe. I'm glad that there are people out there who have the time to "sort the wheat from the chaff", sincerely (!) For others like me, these online fora are a means of having a light-hearted exchange with like-minded travellers, but at the end of the day, we all have to trust our own judgement. It's unfortunate that there are people out there who will try anything to influence others. As one of the other contributors said, it's best to ignore them.
BDS
p.s. I haven't forgotten the safari photos!
-
VIP Contributor
- Join Date
- Jan 2007
- Location
- Middle TN, Clearwater & Key Largo, FL
- Posts
- 1,524
- Blog Entries
- 2
02-13-2007, 11:06 AMRe: Wow! what a find
curtiejoe, what exactly did pauljohnson do wrong? Is he or anyone else involved in the travel industry not allowed to participate? Can you clarify? Thank you.curtiejoe wrote:
pauljohnson
Looks to me a bit like a case of "the pot calling the kettle black". I checked out your "luxury travel blog", which you prominently include on all your posts. Lo and behold -it says that you are the Managing Director of "an onlinetourism marketing company with a client base that includes some of the finest hotels in the world." It goes on to say that the company "operates over 200 travel-related websites" and that "it generates over $2 million annually in direct online bookings worldwide and at least the same again in offline sales."
Why, oh why indeed, are people not more subtle? It just looks so bad from someone who's posting recommendations about specific hotels on LL's Community boards. Could this be "phishing "?
curtiejoe
-
02-13-2007, 07:32 PM
Re: Wow! what a find
Hi bdsouza
Good. I lhaven't forgotten the safari picseither. And, like you, I enjoy being able to enjoy sharing and exchanging travel information and experiences with like-minded travelers, whose main occupation is something other than 'tourism marketing'.
Glad to hear from you again.
curtiejoe




LinkBack URL
About LinkBacks
Reply With Quote

Rome Next Spring
05-20-2013, 06:49 AM in Europe